“The Pickwick Papers,” by Charles Dickens

Oh my. Oh my. Oh my. I have not finished reading “The Pickwick Papers,” but I will eventually. I am almost halfway through the book. I stopped and took a breather at Chapter 28. In the past, I’ve read, “David Copperfield” and it is my favorite. I read “The Old Curiosity Shop,” and “Great Expectations.” Without a doubt, “The Pickwick Papers” is the most challenging to read. I will finish it, but, alas, I do not know when. When I finish it, I probably won’t update my blog. So, what you are reading now, is all the words of wisdom (ha!) you’re going to get.

I would say, in a nutshell, “The Pickwick Papers” are the adventures or misadventures of Mr. Pickwick, Mr. Tupman, Mr. Snodgrass and Mr. Winkle. They certainly meet some interesting characters on their travels through London and the countryside of England. If you decide to read it, prepare yourself for a long, slow journey.

dickens 001

5 thoughts on ““The Pickwick Papers,” by Charles Dickens

  1. Hi – I was wondering whether you ever did finish reading The Pickwick Papers? (Though I note your comment that you probably wouldn’t update your blog if you did.) Even if you didn’t enjoy the book, I wonder whether I could suggest that you might take a look at my own forthcoming novel Death and Mr Pickwick, which tells the story of the origins and history of The Pickwick Papers? My novel is very long too, but in my defence let me say that I think The Pickwick Papers has the most fascinating backstory of any work of fiction I have encountered. You don’t need to have read a word of The Pickwick Papers before coming to my novel, but if you have I think Death and Mr Pickwick will give you a new perspective on Dickens’s first novel. You can find out more at: http://www.deathandmrpickwick,com There is also the first pre-publication review from Publishers Weekly, which you can read here: http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-0-374-13966-7

    Best wishes

    Stephen Jarvis

    • I would love to read your book. I will look into it. I didn’t finish The Pickwick Papers. I think I am halfway through it. There were times when I enjoyed the story very much and other times I didn’t. I do like Dickens though! Although I have not read all of his books, David Copperfield is my favorite. I really clicked or connected with that story. Thank-you so much for contacting me on my blog. I look forward to reading your book. Katie

  2. Thank you very much, Kathy. If you want to exchange some messages about Pickwick, my book, or anything else please feel free to get in touch, anytime. (I can be contacted by the website.) I have always hoped that I would make many new friends and associates by writing the novel. I have also set up a facebook page, by the way, where I post bits and pieces of Pickwickiana. The emphasis there is on pictures, though. You can find it at: http://www.facebook.com/deathandmrpickwick

  3. Either name is fine. We had a foreign exchange student live with us for ten months. She couldn’t pronounce the “th” sound we have in English, so she called me Katie. That was how Katie got started. Either name is fine.
    I have been on goodreads this morning and marked your book to be read. I do believe I will spend my summer with Mr. Dickens! That’s good. I’ll finish the Pickwick Papers this summer also!

Leave a Reply

