“Petticoat Detective,” by Margaret Brownley

Petticoat Detective by Margaret BrownleyI enjoy a good romantic comedy and “Petticoat Detective,” is a good romantic comedy. I stayed awake last night to finish this comical story. This morning, before my husband left for work, I was telling him about this hoot of a book and I was laughing as I told the tale! I can always count on Margaret Brownley to write a fun story. This is the first book, in this series, and I am really looking forward to the next book!

Jennifer alias Amy is a Pinkerton detective. She is working in secret at “Miss Lillian’s Parlor House and Boots,” in Kanas, in hopes of nabbing that notorious cad of an outlaw, the Gunnysack Bandit! I liked Jennifer/Amy. She was a wildcat and she was committed and determined to find the Gunnysack Bandit. She also had a tender heart and a strong faith. There was some struggle in Jennifer/Amy because she was a covert operative working in a brothel.

Tom Colton, a former Texas Ranger and rancher, is also searching for the Gunnysack Bandit. Jennifer alias Amy and Tom come together when Rose, a “lady” at the parlor house, is discovered murdered in her own bedroom. I liked Tom. He also had his struggles. There are a gaggle of characters in this book that are likable! Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

