“And so this is Christmas”

The twelve days of Christmas begins December 25th and ends January 6th, otherwise known as “Epiphany,” or the time the Wise Men or Magi arrived to present their gifts to Jesus. (Matthew 2:1-12)

The song, “The Twelve Days of Christmas” is considered by some to be a fun song for children to sing. However, some believe it is a song written for the purpose of Christian instruction, dating back to the 16th century religious wars in England. For example: the true love in the song is God Himself and not a human beau. The days in the song each represent some aspect of faith. However, there does seem to be controversy concerning the song and it’s historical beginnings and accuracy. So, some believe the song to be secular and some believe it is a covert method to preserve and teach the Christian faith.

I think the song is interesting!

The Twelve Days of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, a Partridge in a Pear Tree – the Partridge in a Pear Tree is Jesus, the Son of God, whose birthday we celebrate on December 25th.

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, two turtle doves – the Old and the New Testament.

On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, three French hens – Faith, Hope, Love (1 Corinthians 13:13) “The greatest of these is love.”

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, four calling birds- Ahhh. The Gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John! I like this song. This is good!

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, five golden rings! The first five books of the Old testament, Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, six geese a-laying – the six days of creation!

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, seven swans a-swimming – the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit – prophecy, ministry, teaching, exhortation, giving, leading and compassion. Romans 12: 6-8 and 1 Corinthians 12:8-11.

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, eight maids a-milking – the BEATITUDES! Blessed are the poor in spirit, those who mourn, the meek, those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, the merciful, the pure in heart, the peacemakers and those who are persecuted for righteousness sake. Matthew 5:3-10.

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, nine ladies dancing – the fruit of the Spirit – love, joy peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Galatians 5: 22-23.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, ten lords a leaping – the ten commandments, Exodus 20:1-17. (I am not listing all the ten commandments here!)

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me, eleven pipers piping – the eleven faithful apostles Luke 6:14-16.

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me – twelve drummers drumming – the twelve points of doctrine in the Apostle’s creed.

Epiphany – January 6th!

http://www.cresourcei.org

The Bible

picture from pinterest

.

One thought on ““And so this is Christmas”

Leave a Reply

