“The Moon-Spinners,” by Mary Stewart

Nicola Ferris arrives in Crete for a holiday, Agios Georgios to be exact. She is vacationing with her cousin, however, her cousin is delayed and Nicola gets a ride with an American couple who reluctantly drop her off a short walking distance from Agios Georgios. Following the flight of a bird, Nicola discovers a man who has been shot and is feverish. He is not happy that she has discovered him and wants her gone as soon as possible. However, Nicola isn’t easily hurried away. So begins Nicola’s adventure. ***** 5, that’s right, 5 amazing stars!!!

Oh my goodness! Anytime I want to travel to Greece, this is the book I will read! Mary Stewart is so good describing landscapes, flowers, birds and the sparkling ocean around Crete. She’s also good with suspense!!! Her villains are sneaky, stealth like beings who skulk around and can’t be stopped. Nicola was a believable female protagonist who was determined to help in any way she could. She was a strong woman! I really don’t think Mary Stewart’s female characters think of themselves as strong though. I really enjoyed the book, very much. Unfortunately, last night I watched the movie, The Moon – Spinners and I was disappointed.The book is always better. The movie stars Haley Mills and Disney filmed it. They changed so much of the story! Oh my my my. I do not recommend the movie at all. I do highly recommend the book! Happy Reading!

The Moon-Spinners (Rediscovered Classics) by Mary Stewart,http://www.amazon.com/dp/1569767122/ref=cm_sw_r_pi_dp_R2Mbsb18GH6F3WGX     Seems a little hokey now but I loved it when it came out. The book by Mary Stewart was great!pictures from pinterest.

Leave a Reply

