The Sidekick? The Unsung Hero/Heroine?

Hi everyone! I hope you are well, staying cool and enjoying the summer.

In books, it is unusual if the main character in the story is my favorite character. I know! I’m odd. 🙂 My favorite character is usually someone in the background. Someone who seems to be overlooked – a sidekick – the unsung hero? I’m not sure what to call this seemingly insignificant character who is actually very significant! For example, I just finished reading, “To Win Her Favor,” by Tamera Alexander. Well, General Harding was one of my two favorite characters in the story. He was so important in Cullen and Maggie’s life! He was so very important.

 Or, Dr. Watson in the Sherlock Holmes stories! Need I say more???

Well, it’s the same in movies. There is usually a character/sidekick/unsung hero or heroine that captures my attention and heart. I am going to address a few of these characters now. These are in no particular order.

 Darcy Lewis #thor - Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings) is Jane Foster’s intern, a quirky but quick-thinking poli-sci major who found herself in the middle of Earth’s first contact with an alien civilization. And while she doesn’t always understand everything that’s happening around her, she doesn’t hesitate to speak up about it. When Jane discovers an ancient cosmological event affecting the Earth, it’s Darcy who has to pick up the slack when Jane disappears.

How can I not love Darcy from the “Thor” movies??? She’s amazing. She’s funny, smart and she stands with Jane through – well – everything! Roustabout? Is she the voice beyond reason when reason makes no sense??? I really love her! What’s not to love???

Mr. Riley Poole from National Treasure! If only he were real, if so I'd marry him ;)

Do you remember Riley from the National Treasure Movies??? He’s great. I gotta love him. He’s smart and funny and a great sidekick. Didn’t he write a book??? I think, he’s easy on the eyes. Oops. hehe. Did I say that out loud???

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - Movie Still

Oh yes! The Professor from, “The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.” Just a great character. He certainly knew how to put things into perspective. I can’t help myself but to love this character. He’s a living memory. 🙂

Inspired by Karl Urban in Star Trek, I got the blue costume star trek shirt and paired it with a black skirt and boots. Wore a purse that could've been a doctor's bag and made a fem-bones.

Okay! This guy needs to seriously clean up his language, but really, I do like him. He has a terrible bedside manner. He has this sarcastic humor that’s great. He’s just got an all around bad attitude. And, he’s a doctor??? I really like this character, in spite of his flaws. I mean really!!! Ahem. Oh, another one who is easy on the eyes, hehe.

Who are your favorite sidekicks or unsung heros/heroines? I’d love to hear from you.:)

Enjoy and Happy Reading. pictures from pinterest.

4 thoughts on “The Sidekick? The Unsung Hero/Heroine?

  1. What a fun post! I love Darcy, Riley and the Star Trek dude. (I know, it’s awful, I forget his name.) So many sidekick characters “make” a story, because while they are often secondary and stereotyped to the “comedy,” they’re often SO MUCH MORE than that. 🙂

  2. Oh yes! Totally get this! I always love sidekick guys. 🙂 Riley is pure awesomeness. The poor guy… What he puts up with…
    I like a side character best in the Star Trek movies too. Though my favorite is Scotty, not Bones. Bones is awesome too, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

