The Sidekick? The Unsung Hero/Heroine Part IV

Part IV? I need to change my numbers! I’ll be lost in a sea of Roman numerals if I continue! 🙂

Emma (2009) love the faces...like they're sharing an inside/secret joke: I love Emma’s governess. When she lived with Emma and her family she was Miss Taylor. After Emma was grown, she married and became Mrs. Weston. Emma’s governess, the lovely Mrs. Weston is my choice for the unsung hero.

Isabella and Emma lost their mother. Isabella was old enough to remember, but Emma was not. Mr. Woodhouse lost his wife. Mrs. Weston was a governess to the girls of a grieving family. This could not have been an easy situation. Mrs. Weston was nanny, governess, sister, teacher, comforter, and the list goes on, to the young girls she cared for. And then, she also had a father who was hurt and shattered. I felt that Mrs. Weston became a daughter to Mr. Woodhouse. How could I not choose Mrs. Weston for my unsung heroine?

I have not read all of Jane Austen’s books, however, Emma is my favorite at this time. The BBC did a wonderful job filming Emma. In fact, I own it. Have you read Emma? Have you seen the BBC version of Emma? I’d love to hear from you. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Sidekick? The Unsung Hero/Heroine Part IV

  1. I’ve seen the BBC 1972 TV series, yonks ago when I was a wee one. For some reason, Miss Bates’ exclaimation of ‘Pork!’ always struck me as hilarious (or maybe that was the film version, I can’t quite remember!).

    • The BBC version I have is dated 2009. Starring Romola Gara and Jonny Lee Miller. There is a conversation about pork. 🙂 I like Mr. Woodhouse and I think Mr. Knightley’s facial expressions are funny. 🙂

  2. I have not read the book, but have likely seen nearly all of the adaptations. Love the BBC’s recent take and of course, this character who is really quite a wise one. 🙂 Fun feature, Katie.

Leave a Reply

