Classic Movie Friday!

REBECCA

~ starring ~

Joan Fontaine

Laurence Olivier

This is a Hitchcock movie! Oh yes. I saw the movie, for the first time, when I was a girl and then I read the book shortly after that. “Rebecca” is one of the mystery/suspense stories that sealed the deal. Mystery/suspense was now my favorite genre.

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.”

The book is always better, but Hitchcock did such a great job with this story. Of course, I’m a big fan of Hitchcock. Rebecca is already dead at the beginning of the movie. This movie is not graphic – there are no gross crime scenes. The widowed husband meets a lovely lady – timid, insecure but very likable and she loves her new husband deeply. After they marry and arrive at his ginormous home, she discovers the memory of her husband’s first wife is alive and well.

My list of classic movie favorites is continually changing and I have a three movie tie for first place. Fun!

Have you seen the classic movie “Rebecca?” Have you read the book? I’d love to hear from you. Enjoy!

Rebecca (1940) dir. Alfred Hitchcock  Starring: Joan Fontaine, Laurence Olivier. based on the novel by Daphne du Maurier.  The ultimate gothic romantic mystery: pinterest

2 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

Leave a Reply

