Fun Morsels ~ “The Fellowship of the Ring”

As many of you know, I am reading, “The Fellowship of the Ring,” again and sharing fun stuff, about the story, on my blog.

So, I walked to the bakery, bought a hot chocolate, found a table, sat down and read several chapters. I was so engrossed in “The Fellowship,” I don’t think I heard a sound for a couple of hours. πŸ™‚Β  So, here is my next list of fun morsels I found in Tolkien’s story, I had forgotten or overlooked in the past or I thought were just plain fun. πŸ™‚ Chapters 2 – 6

  • Frodo didn’t believe Bilbo was dead as many did. So, in honor of Bilbo’s 112 birthday he gave a party which he called, “a Hundred-weight Feast.”
  • Bilbo was known as the “Mad Baggins” and became a favorite character in legend.
  • The “Green Dragon” is at “Bywater.”
  • Aragorn was “the greatest traveler and huntsmen of this age of the world!”
  • “Ancalagon” is a black dragon. Note: I do not like dragons! And, this blog is a No Dragon Zone! πŸ™‚
  • Frodo sold Bag End to Lobelia! Note: I did not remember that at all!
  • Frodo, with Merry’s help, bought a house in “Crickhollow.”
  • “Remmirath,” “Red Borgi” and “Menelvagor” are all stars.
  • “Gildor Inglorin,” of the “House of Finrod,” was the first Elf Frodo and friends met after they left Bag End.
  • Frodo speaks the Elfin language. Note: I didn’t remember that.
  • Gildor named Frodo, “Elf-friend.”
  • The Elves “filled the traveler’s bottles with a clear drink, pale golden in colour; it had the scent of honey made of many flowers and was wonderfully refreshing.”
  • Farmer Maggot remembers a time when Frodo was “one of the worst young rascals of Buckland.” Note: Funny. I can believe that of Pippin but Frodo?
  • “Brandy Hall” is the ancient home of the Brandybucks.
  • Frodo said, “Mrs. Maggot was a queen among farmer’s wives.”
  • The “Withywindle comes down out of the Downs and flows south-west through the midst of the forest to join the Brandywine below Haysend.”
  • “Goldberry, daughter of the river,” is “Tom Bombadil’s” wife.
  • “Barliman Butterbur” is the keeper of the Prancing Pony.

There you have it. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

