“The Rivers End,” by James Oliver Curwood

This book was so good. 🙂 The copyright on it is 1919! Can you imagine? 🙂

Mounted Police Office Conniston has tracked and captured the outlaw John Keith for killing a judge. The two men are holed up in a cabin, in the Hudson Bay area, because of an Artic storm. Brrrr. Conniston is dying, so, because of a resemblance to one another, they believe they can successfully change identities and Keith can return to civilization as Conniston.

This was such a good adventure story. There was always a sense of foreboding ~ will the characters who knew Conniston believe Keith is Conniston? There were surprises in the story leaving this reader wondering if Keith’s secret was going to be revealed. There was a mystery with one of the characters. And, each time I read a book by Curwood, I either get frostbite because he describes the  northern winters so well, or I get lost in the wilderness, fearing I will never return to land of people. 5***** adventuress stars!

 

4 thoughts on ““The Rivers End,” by James Oliver Curwood

  1. How interesting! It sounds like the Mountie wants to go along with it even though Keith might be a bad guy? Or maybe the judge needed killing? Or?? Definitely going to put this on my TBR list. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I actually already have one book by Curwood on the list, Kazan.

    • I haven’t read Kazan. It is on my TBR. 🙂 I am thinking of doing a post on Curwood – the man. It’s so good to connect with a person who has read one of his stories. I don’t know how many people have heard of him. I’ve read three of his books and, so far, The River’s End is my favorite.

  2. I read some of Curwood’s books years ago, so long that I couldn’t tell you which ones. I think he is mostly forgotten these days. Many of his works are free at Project Gutenberg and some are at LibriVox too.

    • I was in Michigan a few years ago and a friend picked up one of his books at a library for me. I can’t remember the name of the book, but it was good. It was set in Canada. I’ll check out Gutenberg and LibriVox. There is an urban archeology store in our town and I find his books there occasionally. That was where I found The River’s End.

Leave a Reply

