Top Ten Tuesday!

Rick and I have very different tastes in movies. He likes the old black and white sci-fi movies and I go for chick flicks. We do manage to go to a movie together ~ occasionally. He has seen his fair share of chick flicks and I’ve seen tooooo many black and white sci-fi. 🙂 Rick and I have so much fun quoting characters in movies. So, I’ve compiled a list of movie lines/quotes, we’ve had fun with. There are so many! In many movies, the actors have several lines in the same movie that are great, especially Scotty in Star Trek. I had to narrow it down. I didn’t include animation. That’s another Top Ten. Anyway, without further ado ~

~ “Well, if Jane does die, it will be a comfort to know it was in pursuit of Mr. Bingley.” Pride and Prejudice (2005) Mr. Bennet/Donald Sutherland

~ “Where I come from, the meal is the result of reflection and study. Menus are prepared in advance, timed to perfection. It is said, without the culinary arts, the crudeness of reality would be unbearable. Kate & Leopold, Leopold/Hugh Jackman

kate and leopold - Google Search:

~ “You like pain? Try wearing a corset.” Pirates of the Caribbean, The Curse of the Black Pearl, Elizabeth Swan/Keira Knightley

I don’t have any personal experience with corsets, however, if you do, I’d love to hear from you. 🙂

~ “An adventure? No, I don’t imagine anyone west of Bree would have much interest in adventures. Nasty, disturbing, uncomfortable things. Make you late for dinner, heh heh.” The Hobbit, An Unexpected Journey, Bilbo Baggins/Martin Freeman

Bilbo and Gandalf (Martin Freeman and Sir Ian McKellan) in "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey":

~ “I love daisies. They’re so friendly. Don’t you think that daisies are the friendliest flower?” You’ve Got Mail, Kathleen Kelly/Meg Ryan

~ “Paris is always a good idea.” Sabrina, Sabrina/Julia Ormond

Sabrina - Julia Ormond & Harrison Ford:

~ “Are you from the future?”

“Well, that’s brilliant. Do they still have sandwiches there?” Star Trek, Scotty/Simon Pegg

star trek simon pegg scotty hat:

~ “I’m afraid the world’s pretty much the same. Of course, we all dress in shiny metal jumpsuits and drive flying cars and no one talks anymore, because we can read each other’s minds. But, the truth is, man from the past, not much has really changed . . . ” The Lake House, Kate Forster/Sandra Bullock

Sandra Bullock: The Lake House:

~ “Doth mother know you wear-eth her drapes?” The Avengers, Ironman/Robert Downing Jr.

~ “That I don’t want to be buried alone. Paige’ll be with her husband and Matt’ll be with his new family and I will be buried with strangers. I will be buried in the strangers singles section of the cemetery.” The Intern, Jules/Anne Hathaway

"...I know if we got a divorce, he'd remarry, not necessarily to this girl, but someone and we know I'm not easy, so I could be like single forever...." ~ Jules Ostin, "The Intern":

Rick and I have watched all these movies again and again. What are your favorite movie lines/quotes? I’d love to hear from you. 🙂 Happy Top Ten Tuesday!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!

  1. I’ve met a woman who designs costumes for movies. She gave a presentation to our writing group. She has a complete Victorian costume, including corset, and wore it. She loves it. She said that if it’s painful, it isn’t fit properly. Her opinion is that corsets help your posture and are quite comfortable, once you’re used to it. She also advised having one tailor made.

    “Princess Bride” – “Life is pain. If anyone tells you differently, they’re trying to sell you something.” – Wesley/Cary Elwes

    “Inconceivable.” “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” – Vizzini/Wallace Shawn and Indigo/Mandy Patankin

    “As you wish.” – Wesley/Cary Elwes

    “LadyHawke” – “So Goliath. Let me tell you a story about a little man named ‘David.'” – Mouse/Philippe/Matthew Broderick

    “Walk on the left side!” – Priest

    “Left side. Left side. Left side.” – Philippe

    “It always pays to tell the truth, Lord. I see that now.” – Mouse/Philippe

  2. love your quotes! Your first 4 are fav’s of mine too. Here’s another from Pride and Prejudice: Mrs. Bennet: Have you no consideration for my poor nerves?
    Mr. Bennet: You mistake me, my dear. I have the utmost respect for your nerves. They’ve been my constant companion these twenty years.

  3. I LOVE that “Pride & Prejudice” quote, really need to re-watch “The Intern” (really liked that one) and “The Lake House” (it’s SO beautiful), and I have as yet to watch “Kate and Leopold” (what!?). Really fun list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

