“Around the World in Eighty Days,” by Jules Verne

Phileas Fogg spontaneously bets his friends at the Reform Club, he can travel around the world in eighty days!!! Without delay, Fogg and his French servant, the stalwart,  Passepartout set out on a journey they won’t soon forget! Oh my word! What a journey! This is the first time I have read this book and I enjoyed it. I was their cheerleader! I was amazed. I laughed! I was delighted and held my breath! On every page, I was eager to read more. I was with our intrepid travelers every step of the journey, through storms at sea and the crossing of America. And! in the back of my mind, always the question ~will they return at the appointed time??? There are various modes of transportation throughout the story, but my favorite is the elephant! I would like to ride an elephant. 🙂 I would! Yup. While they are bounding around the globe, Inspector Fix is on their trail, believing Fogg is a bank robber. Mmm???

Have you read any books by Jules Verne??? I’d like to hear from you. 🙂

Around the World in Eighty Days, Jules Verne ~ One ill-fated evening at the Reform Club, Phileas Fogg rashly bets his companions £20,000 that he can travel around the entire globe in just eighty days - and he is determined not to lose.:

 

 

Leave a Reply

