Classic Movie Friday!

I’m eating a key lime pie yogurt and it tastes like the color green! 🙂 Yup! That’s exactly what the color would taste like, if one could taste green. Interesting!

Anyway, it’s Classic Movie Friday!!! I haven’t blogged about a classic movie in awhile, but I will try to do better in the future.

~ All About Eve (1950)

Bette Davis

Anne Baxter

George Sanders

Celeste Holm

A few weeks ago, I mentioned Humphrey Bogart was my favorite classic actor. I also mentioned, I didn’t really have a favorite female classic actress. Well, Bette Davis is probably my favorite female classic actress. I am not an actress, so it amazes me how she finds the energy to pull off the roles in her movies. “All About Eve,” is the third movie I have seen with Bette Davis and it’s the third movie I have loved with Bette Davis.

In this movie, Bette Davis plays a successful, aging actress in the theatre. Eve Harrington (Anne Baxter) wiggles her way into lives of Margo Channing (Bette Davis) and her circle of friends to steal the show or overshadow Margo Channing. This is such a good movie. I loved it! And, it is my understanding that it won Best Picture in 1950.

Anne Baxter and Bette Davis in All About Eve (1950).:

For those of you who love Marilyn Monroe, she is in the movie.

Do you watch classic movies? Who is your favorite actor? Who is your favorite actress? Have you seen “All About Eve?”

18 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. I LOVE All About Eve!! I have it on DVD. I also like The Country Girl with Grace Kelly and Bing Crosby; Leave Her to Heaven with GeneTierney; A Letter to Three Wives with Linda Darnell and many more. ( :

  2. Hi! I don’t think I have seen All About Eve, but I don’t think anyone can deny the talent of Bette Davis. I think she is my grandmother’s favorite classic actress as well. My grandmother got me hooked on classic movies as a child and when I lived with her for about a year as a young adult, we would spend many nights rifling through her extensive recorded-from-television movie collection and watching whatever sounded good that night. My tastes usually ran more toward the musicals and comedies, though. I absolutely love Bringing up Baby with Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn (actually anything with the two of them was fantastic). I also like Brigadoon with Gene Kelly, Pillow Talk with Doris Day, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers with Jane Powell, and pretty much anything with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers is guaranteed to get me to sit down till the end. Not to mention Judy Garland, Frank Sinatra, Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, Shirley Temple, Andy Rooney, Spencer Tracy, Audry Hepburn, John Wayne. Oh I could go on for days! 🙂 LOL I haven’t had time to watch any of these for a while and I didn’t realize how much I missed them till you reminded me how much I love them. I see a movie night in my near future!

    • Bringing Up Baby is a fun movie! I think I own it somewhere in my stack of classic movies! I saw Pillow Talk when I was a girl, but I don’t remember much about it. Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers are always fun. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I haven’t seen All About Eve yet; I’ll have to look into it! Honestly, I haven’t watched very many old movies, but I do enjoy a good many old TV shows, such as I Love Lucy, the Munsters, and Andy Griffith!

  4. Classic film is the best! I love watching and writing about them 🙂 I definitely need to rewatch and write about this glorious and sublime movie. Acting, storyline, everything is perfect!!

    As for favourite classic actor, I would have to say Jimmy Stewart. I find him very endearing, and he reminds me of my late maternal grandfather who I was very close with. As for actress, Jean Harlow. Such a wonderful comedienne 🙂

  5. Oh, my gosh! I grew up on Bette Davis movies! Not that I’m a contemporary of Bette. My mama was a big fan. Check out “Dark Victory.” It’s a wonderful story! And don’t forget her later, creepier work like “Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte” and “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane.”

Leave a Reply

