Cozy Mystery Challenge

I’m participating in the cozy mystery challenge. If you’re interested, you can take a gander at Cruizin’ thru the Cozies reading challenge on goodreads or you can skedaddle on over to http://www.socratesbookreviews.blogspot.com

One of the sub-genres we are required to read for the challenge this year ~ British Cozy Mystery. I would like to say, I had a difficult time finding a British cozy I wanted to read. Oh, they’re out there, it just seemed none interested me. I guess I’m picky. *gasp* 🙂 I searched high and I searched low. I looked here and I looked there. I started reading one author, immediately didn’t like her, so I moved on. I finally yelped for help and a friend loaned me a few Agatha Raisin Mysteries.

I started at the beginning and read, “The Quiche of Death,” by M.C. Beaton.

Agatha Raisin is a 50ish year old lady who owned her own business in London. She decided to retire early, sold her business, and bought a home in the peaceful (haha) village of Carsely. Retirement isn’t going as planned, so, she tries to become more involved in the community. She enters a baking contest. That’s right, she enters a quiche in said contest. How extraordinary. Things aren’t quite what they seem when the judge ends up dead after eating Agatha’s quiche! How rude!!!

I liked the idea, death by quiche. I thought, ok, I can do that. I liked the idea of a British village and all it’s quirky characters. However, I’m not sure I  liked Agatha. I couldn’t relate to her or connect with her at all. She was different. I thought she was rude, insensitive, overly direct with people and generally not likable. I like more plot than Agatha has to offer. I did solve the mystery. This book is in a two book edition and I solved the mystery in the second story also. Mmm.

Detective Constable Bill Wong is a pretty good character. Wong and Agatha have an interesting friendship, and I liked Mrs. Bloxby, the Vicar’s wife.

This is a mystery for adults. There’s profanity in the story and inappropriate comments. In my opinion, it’s not for kids of any age. The issues are adult issues. I gave it 3*** stars on goodreads. So, I will keep searching for a British cozy mystery.

Have you read the Agatha Raisin mysteries? Do you like them? I’d like to hear from you.

Oh! The second mystery in the book, “The Vicious Vet.”

3417129

7 thoughts on “Cozy Mystery Challenge

  1. I do enjoy the Agatha Raisin series. I listen to them mostly and find them very amusing. Agatha can be a bit brash, but I have grown to appreciate her.
    Have you tried H.Y. Hannah’s Oxford Tearoom Mysteries series? I think they might be a good fit for you. I recommend A Scone to Die For, book 1 in the series. There’s a prequel, a novella, but you don’t have to start with that one. I reviewed A Scone to Die For on my blog. In fact, I’m reading the next book in the series right now, Tea With Milk and Murder. I read and listen. I’m enjoying it. H.Y. Hanna actually attended Oxford University and some of her experiences are in her stories. I really enjoy the series, and she’s a very nice author too. ( :

  2. This is my fav genre! 🙂 Check out https://recipeformurder.com/category/cozy/ for recommendations!

    I think you would like LB Hathaway’s Posie Parker mysteries. The first one “Murder Offstage” is free if you have Kindle Unlimited.

    Margery Allingham’s books are great too, I think you might like Black Plumes.

    Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear is great, no bad language, but is a little more intense than your average cozy.

    Agatha Christie or Dorothy L. Sayers are classic choices.

    • Thanks so much for all the recommendations. I’ve read Agatha Christie’s mysteries and love them all. I’m rereading some of them this year. I’ve been thinking about reading Jacqueline Winspear for awhile and I know our library has her. I’ll check into Posie Parker and Margery Allingham. 🙂

Leave a Reply

