Cozy Mystery Challenge!

8527018 Career based (housekeeping, wedding planner, etc.) is the next sub-genre in the cozy mystery challenge. I chose “To Have and To Kill,” by Mary Jane Clark. This is the first book in the Wedding Cake Mystery.

Piper Donovan (I love her name), is our amateur sleuth. She’s a successful actress, however, she’s fallen upon hard times and returns to her parents home to live. Her mother owns a bakery and is having problems with her vision, so when Piper learns her best friend is getting married, and her mother can’t make the cake, Piper makes the cake and becomes a cake decorator.

Unfortunately, days before the wedding, at a fund raising event, someone is murdered. Poison!

This is the first in the series and it wasn’t a bad mystery. I gave it 3.5 stars on goodreads. I thought it was sluggish in the beginning, but the author was introducing the characters and giving background information. Then it moved along at a good pace. I read right through it. It’s a nice, pleasant, easy read, however I thought it was superficial. The characters were nice and I especially liked Piper’s FBI friend and her dad! Piper’s dad was an interesting man. I certainly don’t want to discourage anyone from reading it, because it is a nice, easy cozy to read. Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Cozy Mystery Challenge!

  1. The names of cozy mystery books always make me smile (and then roll my eyes a little), lol. I’m about to start one called “Dying for a Drive,” which actually goes along with your current sub-genre. 🙂

Leave a Reply

