Classic Movie Friday!

The Greene Murder Case (1929)

William Powell

Florence Eldridge

Jean Arthur

Eugene Pallette

On December 31, every year, the Greene family get together to verify the terms of the will. This particular year, one of the family members is murdered. Philo Vance (William Powell) is asked to investigate the crime.

What just happened here??? I think I need a couple of  hours to think about this one! This was a pretty good mystery, however, it was a shocking tragedy. I gradually, over the course of viewing the film, solved the case. The mystery is based on old psychology.

This movie is so old, I thought it was a silent movie when it started! However, I googled it and the first talking film was in 1927. So there you have it! 🙂

The Greene Murder Case (1929) With William Powell, Frank Tuttle, F Elridge, Jean Arthur.:

What is the oldest film you have ever seen? Have you seen a classic silent film? Did you like it? Don’t be shy. I’d like to hear from you.

6 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. this sounds interesting, i love mysteries and trying to solve them. i saw the old charlie chaplin films for a class and was a bit wary, but ended up really enjoying them and understanding that there were a lot of underlying messages in them. also some of the pre-code films, where they addressed women’s independence, sexual freedom and class issues.

  2. I’ve seen Rudolph Valentino, though I don’t remember which one. However, his last was in 1926. I think it was his last, “The Son of the Sheik.” I know I watched it because I wanted to see him, having grown up hearing references to him.

Leave a Reply

