Classic Movie Friday!

 To Catch a Thief (1955)

Cary Grant

Grace Kelly

Jessica Royce Landis

John Williams

This is a Hitchcock film!

Cary Grant in 1955 as John Robie,

John Robie (Cary Grant) is a reformed jewel thief. When a copy cat starts stealing jewels, of course, the authorities suspect John Robie. He’s on the run and determined to catch the thief and clear his name.

I was a little surprised when I watched this film. It isn’t as suspenseful as I thought it would be. I didn’t think this was Hitchcock’s best film. And! I didn’t like Frances Stevens (Grace Kelly)! *gasp* Now, I saw “High Noon,” with Gary Cooper and Grace Kelly and I loved her in that film, but I didn’t like her role at all as Frances Stevens. I did like Jesse Stevens (Jessica Royce Landis), the mother. 🙂 I thought she was fun and entertaining. I knew who the jewel thief was from the beginning of the film, however, my conundrum??? How was John Robie going to catch said thief???

cary grant & grace kelly: to catch a thief:

Have you seen this film? I love to hear your thoughts.

7 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. It has so many great lines. Jessie Royce Landis saying to Grant with Kelly in hearing range that Grant sounds too good to be true: “Mind if I have you investigated.” Or Kelly saying to Grant that there’s something not quite right about him: “You’re like an American in an English movie.” And the ladies quarreling over him, as when Grace Kelly is in the water with Grant and Brigitte Auber, and Kelly tries to embarrass Grant about his “chumminess” with Auber: “Were you conjugating some irregular verbs?”

    Kelly is great playing society girl snooty. Auber here plays required cutie French. Above all it is Cary Grant playing, well, Cary Grant.

    They’ll never be another close to Grant in that way. He looks throughout about as tanned as is humanly possible. And he makes endless faces and appears set upon at times. Sometimes he looks like he’s looking at the camera as if he knows the audience “gets it” too.

    It is more light comedy and romance than anything else. I agree. It’s not “classic” Hitchcock. It’s just fun, really.

  2. I love this movie just for the costumes. You can really see the chemistry between Grant and Kelly when they first kiss. 🙂 It’s hard to believe it’s a Hitchcock film.

Leave a Reply

