Classic Movie Friday!

The Big Sleep (1946)

Humphrey Bogart

Lauren Bacall

John Ridgely

Martha Vickers

A wealthy general (Charles Waldron) hires private detective Phillip Marlowe (Humphrey Bogart) to discover and stop the individual who is blackmailing his younger daughter Carmen Sternwood (Martha Vickers), and to look into her gambling debts. Bad becomes worse when someone is murdered and Marlowe finds himself investigating a missing man, and looking into organized crime.

Vivian (Lauren Bacall) is Carmen’s sister and to be honest, I didn’t know if she was a criminal or someone to be trusted. She was peculiar throughout most of the movie.

There were many characters in this film and it could get a little confusing, however, it was good. I liked it.

Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall:

Have you seen The Big Sleep? Do you enjoy movies with Humphrey Bogart?

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. I like this film, but I agree it is confusing in places. I love the scenes between Bogie and Bacall. Bogart’s may be the most famous portrayal of Marlow, but he isn’t actually my favourite. I much prefer Dick Powell in Farewell My Lovely.

  2. I haven’t seen this one in a while, but I do really like it. I didn’t used to really like Bogart when I was growing up– not nearly as much as a lot of the other classic actors– but I grew to like him a lot more through my teenage years. I still wouldn’t quite list him as a favorite… but put him with Lauren Bacall & I know I’ll definitely enjoy the movie. Wish they’d done more together!

Leave a Reply

