Renaissance Festival!

Greetings. The Renaissance Festival is in town for a few days, so Rick and I went. We had such a good time. It was hot, but it was so windy, it didn’t seem hot to me. Rick ate one of the turkey legs they are famous for in our area and I had a good veggie wrap. We watched the jousting, that’s Rick’s favorite. This year, the man who announced the jousting was great. He spoke to the crowd as if he was actually in that period of time. Marcus Desmond versus Jacob!!! There was a considerable amount of cheering, clapping and stomping during the event. Marcus Desmond won!!! The Queen and her court were at the event and the spectators roared “God Save the Queen,” more than once!!!

This first lady I want to introduce to you is Mistress Kathleen aka Kathleen Johnson. As you can see from the photo, she plays the Dulcimer. I talked to her for a few minutes and she was lovely. She has a British accent and she sings (she has a lovely voice) while she plays her instrument. We did purchase one of her CDs.

DSCF2108

We visited a talented group of musicians who play the Recorder. They call themselves the Recorder Ensemble. It was so windy, I’m surprised we didn’t get blown to Canada!!! But, this group persevered and did wonderfully. They were so friendly and talked to me for a few minutes before I left. I bought a CD from them also.

DSCF2118

Have you ever been to a Renaissance Festival? I’d like to hear from you. If you’ve never been to a Renaissance Festival, I want to encourage you to find one in your area, and go. It’s great fun.

9 thoughts on “Renaissance Festival!

  1. How fun! I love stuff like this! And this post makes me even more disappointed to have missed– for the second year in a row– the Medieval Fair that we normally go to. :/ I’ve told my family that we *have* to go next year!!

  2. We have a two-month, weekends only, event. My sister and I go every year and have for the last 15 years or more. I’ve reached the point where there are specific shows I want to see and don’t worry about the rest, Tartanic, bagpipe and drums, and Cast in Bronze, the carillon. I bought a staff from Staffs by Gust that I take in and have oiled every year. It’s beautiful and perfect for walking around the fair in costume. I have a Scott-ish costume and have had people ask if they could take a picture with me. 🙂 So glad you were able to attend and enjoyed the day! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

