Classic Movie Friday!

Marnie, Sean Connery & Tippi Hedren

 

Marnie (1964)

Tippi Hedren

Sean Connery

This is a Hitchcock Film

Marnie (Tippi Hedren) is a thief and a liar. Mark (Sean Connery) meets Marnie, falls in love with her and marries her, although she does not wish to be married. After they are wed, Mark tries to help her overcome her issues. Mark hires a private investigator to check into Marnie’s life. When he has all the details of her past, Mark is able to confront Marnie’s mother (Louise Latham) and Marnie, discovering what really happened to cause Marnie such distress. I need to say, Marnie’s mother blindsided me! I did not see that coming at all!

I did like the movie. The story leads the viewer, however, it doesn’t reveal the problem until the end. Hitchcock knew how to leave just enough in the movie not to reveal what happened. In a sense, the viewer is the detective. I thought the most interesting thing about the movie was trying to solve the mystery of what happened to Marnie to cause her to be so psychologically troubled??? At the beginning of the film, I didn’t really like her, but as the film progressed that changed and at the end of the film, my heart went out to her.

All in all, it was an interesting film.

Have you seen “Marnie?” I’d like to hear from you. πŸ™‚

 

6 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. Glad you liked this one. I consider this to be one of Hitch’s most underrated films. Tippi gives a magnificent performance as a seriously damaged woman. Mark is an interesting character to me, he genuinely wants to help her, but I do think there is something in the line about him where she says she is just something he’s caught; at times it’s like he is studying her and trying to gain her trust the way he would with a wild animal.

  2. Fantastic movie!! I love Alfred Hitchcock’s work and both Sean Connery and Tippi Hedren! When I was a little girl, I would watch Hitchcock’s movies with my dad on Saturday afternoon. I was probably much to young for some now that I have rewatched the movies as an adult, but I fell in love with them then so wonderful memories! Marnie is also a great book, which the film is based off, written by Winston Graham, the author of the Ross Poldark novels 😊 I love your post!

Leave a Reply

