“The Crystal Cave,” by Mary Stewart.

The Crystal Cave (Arthurian Saga, #1):  One of the first fantasy genre books I ever read when I was about 11, leading me headlong into to my obsession with the Middle Ages.

When I started reading this book, I knew next to nothing about Merlin. The story of King Arthur, his Knights, and Lady Guinevere always interested me, but I pretty much ignored Merlin. Well, this author has really done her research. This is wonderful story-telling. This reader was right there in the midst of events as they unfolded. The author certainly communicated the thoughts, beliefs, superstitions etc., of this period of time. I can’t say I really liked Merlin. I can’t say I disliked him either. Merlin is a flawed human being – the rumors of the man are larger than the man. I did have some difficulty reading the pagan aspects of the story. Ambrosius, is my favorite character. He did not disappoint me. Have any of you read the story of Merlin? I would enjoy reading your thoughts. Happy Reading!

Leave a comment