Classic Movie Friday!

 

Torn Curtain (1966)

This is a Hitchcock film!

Paul Newman   Julie Andrews

Professor Michael Armstrong (Paul Newman) is a brilliant scientist from the Unites States. Sarah Sherman (Julie Andrews) is his equally brillant assistant and fiancé. They are attending a physics conference in Denmark. Shortly after they arrive, Armstrong informs Sarah that he is not returning to the United States right away and she must return on her own. He tells her he has business in Stockholm. He’s mysterious about this new information and she seems puzzled. After some investigation, she discovers he is traveling to East Berlin, behind the Iron Curtain! She didn’t see that coming! The cloak and dagger situation becomes more complex when he discovers she followed him to East Berlin. He tries again and again to convince her to go home, but she stays with him. She’s shocked, confused and hurt when he announces he is defecting to the East after the United States canceled an important project he has been working on. Nothing goes as planned ~ it never does ~ Armstrong and Sarah need to escape out of East Berlin, if they can.

What an incredible film! I never thought I would see Paul Newman and Julie Andrews in a movie together, especially a Hitchcock movie!

This was an on the edge of your seat type movie! The East Berlin police were on their tails the entire film. Armstrong and Sarah, along with several concerned citizens, were using creative methods to stay ahead of the authorities. I kept saying, “What are they gonna do? What are they gonna do???”

Cryptic messages! Intrigue! Espionage! Suspense! Run Run!!!

What Hitchcock movies have you seen? What are your favorites?

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Classic Movie Friday!

  1. I saw this movie some years back… Like you said… you don’t normally connect the names of Julie Andrews, Paul Newman, and Alfred Hitchcock!

    My favorite Hitchcock movies: Rear Window, The Lady Vanishes, and Shadow of a Doubt. But I have favorite scenes in so many of them. (Note: I won’t watch the horror ones.)

  2. Hitchcock had a touch of genius. I haven’t seen this one, yet. I’ve seen “The Man Who Knew Too Much,” “The 39 Steps,” “Jamaica Inn,” “Rear Window,” “To Catch a Thief,” “North by Northwest,” “Psycho,” and “The Birds.” I enjoyed them all, but I confess “The Birds” impressed me the most. It took me a long to work up the courage to watch it. I’d heard horror stories. That movie demonstrated an art lost in today’s movies: How to elicit terror through implication. Amazing.

      • I would only watch the originals. I only watched Psycho once. That was enough. I comfort myself with facts I learned about the filming of the movie. 🙂

Leave a comment