Inkling Explorations

http://www.heidi-n-peterson.blogspot.com

This month’s selection is ~ A Description of a Lady in Literature ~ I chose Lady Eowyn from The Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers and she’s also in The Return of the King.. Eowyn is my favorite character in Tolkien’s books. She’s strong, she loves her people. She faces her fears and has amazing passionate patriotism. She feels and hurts deeply but does take time to heal. Most of you know how she rode into battle with the army of Rohan and faced the witch king Angmar. Later she met Faramir, they fell in love and became one of my favorite couples in fiction.  I love her. She’s amazing.

*******

“The woman turned and went slowly into the house. As she passed the doors she turned and looked back. Grave and thoughtful was her glance, as she looked on the king with cool pity in her eyes. Very fair was her face, and her long hair was like a river of gold. Slender and tall she was in her white robe girt with silver; but strong she seemed and stern as steel, a daughter of kings. Thus Aragorn for the first time in the full light of day beheld Eowyn, lady of Rohan and thought her fair, fair and cold, like a morning of pale spring that is not yet come to womanhood. And she now was suddenly aware of him: tall heir of kings, wise with many winters, grey cloaked, hiding a power that yet she felt. For a moment still as stone she stood, then turning swiftly she was gone.” ~The Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers, J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. This scene - the symbolism of that flag falling, it's like you can see Rohan breaking at its core: the king.:

9 thoughts on “Inkling Explorations

  1. I love how her story ends. I confess I didn’t properly appreciate her. I never wanted to be a warrior. I didn’t think being a “lady” was a cage. I’ve since learned there are different kinds of cages, and I need to be a warrior. I need to re-read her part of the story with this new perspective.

  2. *picking self back up yet again in dazed wonder at Tolkien’s breathtaking way with the words ;)*

    Such an absolutely PERFECT selection. I’m so glad you highlighted it!!

Leave a comment